The 1927 Portsmouth Trojans became the school’s first team to reach the Final 4, and posted a mark of 14-4. PHS was a member of the original SEOAL, and went undefeated in league play as Jackson, Wellston, Logan, Gallipolis, Pomeroy, Nelsonville, and Athens all fell short on the scoreboard. The Trojans were swept two games by Ashland KY, while Lima Central accounted for the other regular season setback.

Tournament play saw Portsmouth beat Logan 31-15 in the opening round, while Washington CH fell 26-17. In the first round of the Sweet 16 state tournament, PHS defeated Youngstown 19-17. Dover ended the Trojans season in the state semifinals, and the Tornadoes would go on to win the state title.

Howard Doll, Frank Lewis, Johnny Fugitt, and Murray Smith were the leading players on the 1927 Trojans. Doll, Fugitt, and Smith would also play on the 1929 Final 4 team.