The Portsmouth Trojans have been a member of several leagues throughout its history. Here is some info about each of those leagues:

SEOAL: 1925-1926-1927…….currently 2007-Present

Portsmouth was a charter member of the SEOAL when it was formed in Wellston in 1925. The Trojans lost only 1 league game in 3 years, that being to Nelsonville. Starting in 2007, the SEOAL expanded to include 4 more teams, those being Zanesville, Chillicothe, Ironton, and Portsmouth. These 4 schools joined with Jackson, Gallia Academy, Logan, Warren, Athens, and Marietta. Portsmouth won the boys basketball league title in 2012 and 2014, and finished 2nd in 2011 and 2013. The SEOAL will be down to only 4 members after PHS leaves the league following the 2014-2015 season.


For almost 40 years, the Greater Ohio League consisted of Middletown, Hamilton, Portsmouth, Lima, and Springfield. Chillicothe and Mansfield were also members for a short time. From 1944-1961, the Greater Ohio League produced 11 Big School (Class AA) state champions in basketball, with only Lima not winning a title. The Trojans won the GOL in 1955 and 1961. The league dwindled to only 3 teams by the mid 1970’s, with Portsmouth, Lima, and Springfield South as the remaining members. It completely disbanded just a few years later.


In the late 1970’s, Portsmouth was a member of the Tri-State Athletic Conference, with members from West Virginia and Kentucky. The league was short-lived, and quickly disbanded by 1980.


From 1987-1993, Portsmouth was a member of the OKAC, and won the boys basketball league title every year from 1987-1991. Conference members were Ashland, Russell, Boyd County, Greenup County, Ironton, and Portsmouth. As dominant as PHS was, the Trojans never went undefeated in league play. The only loss for the 1988 D2 state champion Trojans was a 95-73 loss at Russell. The league disbanded in 1993 mainly because of football scheduling restrictions in Kentucky.


Starting in 2014-2015, Portsmouth will be a member of the Ohio Valley Conference, joining Chesapeake, Coal Grove, Fairland, Rock Hill, South Point, and Ironton. Gallia Academy became the 8th member of the OVC when it joined in 2016.